JANUARY 20, 2020 – Sugden theatre in Naples

“A marvelously elegant performance full of youthful freshness and exuberance… spellbinding virtuosity.”

BBC Music Magazine

“Focused intensity and extraordinary musicianship.”

San Diego Union Tribune

“Bold and intense, like shots of pure espresso… Although traditional in terms of repertoire, the performances go beyond the beautiful and into the territory of unexpectedly thrilling.”

MUSO Magazine


Beethoven: String Quartet in B flat major, Op. 18 No. 6

  • Allegro con brio
  • Adagio ma non troppo
  • Scherzo: Allegro
  • La Malinconia: Adagio – Allegretto quasi Allegro

Wei-Chieh Lin: Pasibutbut (2013)

Beethoven: String Quartet in A minor, Op. 132

  • Assai sostenuto – Allegro
  • Allegro ma non tanto
  • Heiliger Dankgesang eines Genesenen an die Gottheit, in der Lydischen Tonart. Molto adagio – Andante
  • Alla marcia, assai vivace
  • Allegro appassionato



Jasmine Lin, violin; Wayne Lee, violin; Che-Yen Chen, viola; Deborah Pae, cello

Winners of both the First Prize and Amadeus Prize at the Wigmore Hall International String Quartet Competition, the Formosa Quartet is “one of the very best quartets of their generation” (David Soyer, cellist, Guarneri Quartet). Hailed as “spellbinding” (The Strad) and “remarkably fine” (Gramophone), the Formosa Quartet has given critically acclaimed performances at the Library of Congress, the Da Camera Society of Los Angeles, the Chicago Cultural Center, the Walter Reade Theater at Lincoln Center, the National Concert Hall in Taipei, Wigmore Hall in London, die Glocke Bremen, and the Kammermusiksaal at the Berliner Philharmonie. The ensemble is deeply committed to championing Taiwanese music and promoting the arts in Taiwan, as well as exploring diverse and adventurous mediums for string quartet.

The members of the Formosa Quartet – Jasmine Lin, Wayne Lee, Che-Yen Chen, and Deborah Pae – have established themselves as leading solo, chamber, and orchestral musicians. With degrees from the Juilliard School, Curtis Institute of Music, and New England Conservatory, they have performed in major venues throughout the United States, Asia, and Europe, and have been top prizewinners in prestigious competitions such as the Paganini, Primrose, Fischoff, Naumburg, and Tertis competitions.

As chamber musicians, they have appeared regularly at the Marlboro, Kingston, Santa Fe, and Ravinia festivals, as well as at the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center, La Jolla Summerfest, and the Seattle Chamber Music Society. The members of the Formosa Quartet are currently on faculty at Eastern Michigan University, the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Roosevelt University, and the University of California, Los Angeles. They have previously held principal positions in the San Diego and Cincinnati Symphonies as well as faculty positions at the University of Southern California, Taos School of Music, McGill University, and the Juilliard School.

Formed in 2002 when the four Taiwanese-descended founders came together for a concert tour of Taiwan, the Formosa Quartet’s cultural identity has since expanded to include broader American and pan-Asian roots.

Their name “Formosa” is still a tribute to the culture of Taiwan, but is also largely taken in its most basic sense: Portuguese for “beautiful.”